Time for a makeover!

I’m getting a makeover! Well, not me, but the blog is getting a makeover – and it may be down for a bit after 7pmEST tonight. Hope you give the new look a thumbs up!IMG_0827Actually, I would like a real makeover – I’ve always wanted to go blond.

Question: If you got a free makeover what would you change about yourself? Anything? Nothing?

I packed something other than PB&J for lunch again today! This is a very tasty and fun challenge 🙂 I’m not making anything “new”, but it’s good to get back to some old favorites.

I made a HUGE salad with tons of veggies and beans for protein. I used my favorite TJ’s Peanut Dressing too.IMG_1011

IMG_1010I also had some Kashi crackers and 2 seltzers with lunch. I may or may not have had another seltzer later. I am an addict.IMG_1043

For dessert – 2 of my chocolate chip cookies 🙂 Dessert with lunch is so fun! But, these have to be microwaved to taste best the next day.IMG_1047

I brought a lot of fruit to snacks today – kiwi and grapes. I love fruit! I ate some more Kashis since fruit doesn’t keep me full for long.DSCN2054

See ya later 🙂

I’m Going Downhill Fast

Yes, I have to admit that I’m going downhill fast. And then, when I go uphill I’m slow! My training plan called for 1 mile easy, 5 miles at Marathon Pace and 1 mile easy. I did pretty well keeping my Marathon Pace, but the last 3/4 mile of my 5m Marathon Pace is uphill and killed me!

See how I’m going downhill fast:

Downhill mile: 8:24

Hilly mile: 9:00 (and this was me trying super hard!)

I’m proud of myself even though I walked some of the last easy mile since I got a side cramp – that never happens?!

Breakfast was cereals with soymilk and a banana. I don’t get eating half a banana – they come individually packaged by nature so I figure one is one serving size. I also feel the same way about watermelon though. IMG_1037IMG_1036

I ate some of the banana with PB 🙂 The key to making cereal keep you full for more than 15 minutes is nut butter!IMG_1033

I had to wake up super early to take Ben to the airport for a short business trip. This means I have time to myself after work! I used to go to Target or get my nails done when I had time like this, but since I’m poor I’m not sure what to do…

Edit – Last night I wrote “flower” instead of “flour”?! Feel free to correct me if I make errors like this that you notice. I think it’s kind of embarrassing and know it bothers some people.

Mini Batch of Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

I have been dying to bake for a week now and finally got the chance today. But, since baking is a major danger zone for me I decided to make a mini-batch of Chocolate Chip Cookies! I made a small batch that made 9 cookies total. I didn’t want to bust out a recipe so I made this up as I went along…IMG_1029

Ingredients – Makes 9 Healthy Cookies

1/2c oats

1/2c whole wheat flour

1/3c brown sugar

1/4 tsp baking powder

dash salt and cinnamon

1 egg

1  applesauce (snack pack size)

1/3c chocolate chips

Mix dry ingredients, then wet ingredients. Drop spoonfuls on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. *I spray the pan to prevent sticking since the cookies don’t have butter. **You can’t eat more than a bite of the cookie dough since it doesn’t make that much. Yes, I eat the batter even though it has raw egg. Have you ever heard of anyone dying from eating cookie dough? If you ever do, it will probably be me and I won’t regret it.IMG_1025Let’s remember that these are healthy cookies and may disappoint Ben your significant other.

The whole batch on a plate! Dee-lish!IMG_1030

I didn’t just have cookies for dinner (not that I’m above that). I had some polenta left over from the other night and recreated that meal. I love cooked spinach with tomato paste and spices. Love it.IMG_1018

IMG_1014My afternoon snack was kiwi and a yogurt. I was hungry and also ended up eating a handful of Kashi crackers! Maybe two handfuls?DSCN2053

When I got home and started making dinner I thought I would be “good” and plate my snackage of Pirate’s Booty. But, let’s be honest and say that I ate handfuls of this stuff straight out of the bag too.IMG_1007

In other news…I’m going to Mississippi next week for work! I’m covering a story about a church building a house for a family who lost their home in Katrina. Exciting life of a reporter!?