The Best Advice

I am often asked for nutrition, diet and running advice. I take it very seriously when someone asks my advice.  I know that the times in the past when I’ve asked others for advice I was really anxious for help. I started to think about the best advice that I’ve ever been given on this. I truly believe the best advice is not given with words, but shown by example. I heartily believe in leading by example and my favorite blogs are the ones by women and men who live a healthy, balanced life and don’t feel the need to apologize for or justify what they do.

I am still in the process of becoming an Intuitive Eater, so my choices are not always the best, but I do strive to live a balanced life – whatever that means for me. I am aiming for progress, not perfection and think I am making progress everyday. I try to lead by example 🙂 But, since my BFF has been asking for advice I’ve been very philosophical about quotes. Caitlin actually posted about quotes this morning and I started thinking about my favorite quotes! Then, I came across this one today on Twitter:

GreatestQuotes“Conquer your bad habits or they will conquer you.” – Rob Gilbert

It’s funny how sometimes you come across exactly what you need to hear at just the right time! This is very motivating to me right now. I am trying my hardest to conquer my bad habit of tired/emotional/bored eating. This is just the mantra I need to repeat to myself when I am in that situation.

Question: Do you have a quote you tell yourself when you need motivation or have a problem?

Me: I’m going with the one above for now! But I also have a running quote I sometimes tell myself on long runs…

“All your life you are told the things you cannot do. All your life they will say you’re not good enough or strong enough or talented enough. They will say you’re the wrong height or the wrong weight or the wrong type to play this or be this or achieve this. They will tell you No, a thousand times no, until all the no’s become meaningless. All your life they will tell you no, quite firmly and very quickly. And you will tell them Yes

Now I need a good life in general quote! The search continues…

Lunch was boring! I really need to switch it up. But, after dinner when I make my sammie my sweet tooth is alert and all I want is something sweet so I end up making a sweet sandwich = PB&J. I’ve been thinking about eating a half a PB&J for a snack so I can enjoy more savory and filling food for lunch. IMG_0993I am now snacking on some pretzels because I feel hungry and I just ate lunch! IMG_0995I definitely need to pack something different for the rest of the week! I promise I am going to have something besides PB&J for the rest of the week!

In other exciting news I am taking 2 courses toward  a Nutrition for Optimal Health and Wellness Certificate! They begin tomorrow! Yeah!

Brisk Monday

Both the weather and my run were brisk today. The weather was cool and invigorating and the run was quick 🙂 I double checked and “brisk” can be defined many ways including…

1 : keenly alert : lively
2 a : pleasingly tangy <brisk tea> b : fresh, invigorating <brisk weather>
3 : sharp in tone or manner
4 a : energetic, quick <a brisk pace> b : marked by much activity <business was brisk>

My Marathon Training Plan called for 1 mile warm up, 4x 800s (1min Rest in between)  1 mile cool down. I am not the biggest fan of speed work, but this was short so it wasn’t too bad 🙂

I made Overnight Oats last night and took them out of the fridge before I left for my run so they wouldn’t be too cold. IMG_0989

Topped with granola and PB – deelish!IMG_0984

In case you haven’t heard, it’s Monday. This means a fresh clean slate…a week of great runs, accomplishing a lot at work, new blog posts and more. Let’s make it great!

Sunday Snack-down

I always snack my way through the weekend. It’s due to a couple of things…I usually eat breakfast late so I’m not hungry at “lunch time”. Then, I have a snack (or three) and have dinner and dessert. I actually don’t mind it, but the trouble comes when I think I should eat lunch or dinner even though I’m not hungry.

I ate grapes, a few chips with hummus and more Pirate’s Booty through out the afternoon. Come dinner time I wasn’t hungry, but figured I should eat. I made a BIG salad topped with hummus.IMG_0975Look how colorful my salad is with my very colorful place mats!IMG_0976

Baked potato on the side (with ketchup!)IMG_0979*Next time I’ll make a small salad and hold the sides  if I really feel like I want to eat with Ben when I’m not hungry.

I really wanted to bake cookies for dessert, but I need Ben to light the pilot light to do that and he was caught up in something else. I really need to teach myself how to do that, but I’m scared.

Other things I’m scared of:

  • The dark (seriously)
  • WWIII
  • Spiders, bugs in general actually
  • Getting injured
  • Falling asleep in church and farting really loud

So, I ended up makes a fruit plate – BORE-RING! IMG_0982I am sad that Sunday is coming to a close 😦 It was a great weekend though! Both Saturday and Sunday were gorgeous days and I feel like I got a lot accomplished 🙂