Belize: Inland Time

We did one last Bike/Run before we left the island. We spotted this fruit/vegetable stand and bought some fruit. The lady cut up the mango for us! Score! Mangoes are the worst to cut.DSCN1586

Yes, we ate 1/4 of a watermelon between us….DSCN1589

After a shower it was time for our last breakfast on the beach…DSCN1595 I incorporated these “local ingredients” into my breakfast….

DSCN1591 DSCN1590

DSCN1547 You can’t beat this view with breakfast! It was paradise…

DSCN1598

We took a 13 passenger airplane back to the mainland. Ben sat in the co-pilot seat!DSCN1620

DSCN1617DSCN1613 After a very bumpy ride we made it to our inland hotel – Black Rock Lodge.DSCN1627

Black Rock Lodge is so secluded! We were in the middle of the rainforest 🙂 There was a hammock right outside our door.DSCN1640DSCN1631

The rooms are very minimal and rustic. It is an eco-lodge and feels like you’re “roughing” it on vacation a bit.DSCN1637All the guests eat together in an open air dining room. It has beautiful views. DSCN1629

The first thing we did was tubing down the river.   IMG_0748 IMG_0734

I did get pooped on though 😦IMG_0737

We ate dinner at the Lodge. DSCN1647They have a set menu, but let you choose from a meat or veggie option.  I chose the veggie option veggie option – it was chickpea curry with rice and veggies.DSCN1652

Dessert was an apple streusel – delicious 🙂DSCN1654

The rainforest is beautiful, but it’s a rainforest – this means bugs everywhere. I’m not a big fan. And I got pooped on!

Monica’s Random Comment of the Day:

Monica: “Every time I think I’m an outdoors girl, I do something outdoors and a bug jumps on me and I think – ‘What the F, what the F?!’”

Ben: (Laughs)

You Better Belize It! Day 4

Ben and I went for another Bike/Run this morning. It is super hot and humid here so I am very slow – think between 9 and 10 minute miles. But, at least it’s something right? I’m just going to be happy that I ran at all 🙂DSCN1539

Before we left I got a picture of the sunrise – beautiful 🙂DSCN1453

Who runs 5 miles on their honeymoon 2 days in a row? This girl!DSCN1536

Breakfast – The view from our table…DSCN1545

The cinnamon roll continental breakfast. Once again I supplemented it with yogurt and cereal. 

Lunch – we walked into town for lunch. It was super hot so we started with a smoothie.DSCN1553 DSCN1555

On the way back I stopped for ice cream 🙂

DSCN1557

Hanging out by the pool. I have never just relaxed by a pool before! I always plan a ton of things to do on vacation. Today relaxing was a revelation to me!

I did do “something” by writing out my 5 Year Plan – broken down into Work goals, Fitness goals and Personal goals 🙂

DSCN1559DSCN1574A while back Meghann posted about Bikini Confidence. I was right on board – in theory.  I love that other girls can be confident in their bodies, but I am not at my goal weight and am very self-conscious of my body.

So I decided to lead by example and have Ben take a picture of me in my bikini. I figure if never reach my goal weight I should at least be happy with who I am now, right? *Note: I sucked it in & and am very photogenic, so if you meet me don’t be disappointed:)DSCN1569 

Many Drinks were consumed by the pool…DSCN1565

Dinner – I couldn’t leave the island without one more Lobster Salad. This is the most amazing salad every. It was $17.00 for a ton of lobster! DSCN1577 DSCN1579

Dessert – I was super full from the lobster and rice w/ beans but I still sought out dessert. Then, I was way too full 😦 Why do I always do that?! DSCN1584

Tomorrow we’re going inland to the rainforest! I’m so Excited!