Kick the food police to the curb

The fourth principle of Intuitive Eating is Challenge the Food Police.

Scream a loud “NO” to thoughts in your head that declare you’re “good” for eating under 1000 calories or “bad” because you ate a piece of chocolate cake. The Food Police monitor the unreasonable rules that dieting has created. The police station is housed deep in your psyche, and its loud speaker shouts negative barbs, hopeless phrases, and guilt-provoking indictments. Chasing the Food Police away is a critical step in returning to Intuitive Eating.

I admit that I feel guilty when I eat food that is “bad” or when I overeat. It doesn’t help the situation to berate myself, but I still do it. When I eat foods that are not good for me or when I overeat I should recognize the situation and learn from it. I’m notΒ  perfect, I’m not going to always eat healthy (life is too damn short for that). But, I am trying to “fix” some of my bad eating habits. Next time I overeat or eating something especially high in calories or fat I will just observe the situation and not call The Food Police. They are fired.

I did an easy 4 miles today in preparation for my long run tomorrow. I don’t want to tire out my legs because I’ve had too many bad runs in a row!

Breakfast – I wanted a big bowl of cereal today so that’s what I had. That TJ’s Raisin Bran Clusters is pretty “heavy” and I was super full after eating! Maybe I ate too fast too because cereal doesn’t normally fill me up like that.DSCN1199
Adding a banana with PB to cereal helps keep ya full πŸ™‚DSCN1201
Celebrate Friday! I celebrate Cookie Friday because it’s the right thing to do πŸ™‚ I started early with a trip to Dunkin Donuts for an iced coffee. I also got one Munchkin as a treat. One of my co-workers always brings in donuts on Fridays. This munchkin will satisfy my donut craving without eating a whole one!DSCN1205

Question: How are you celebrating Friday???

Sloppy Seconds

I had leftovers for dinner – I like them, but I thought Sloppy Seconds was a more fun title πŸ™‚

Leftovers are so great – you don’t have to cook, but you still get all the deliciousness of a home cooked meal. I had the Peanut Noodles from the other night – those are chickpeas (the first time I made it I topped with peanuts, but chickpeas were inside the dish).

DSCN1194DSCN1196

Dessert! These were a little stale, but still tasty πŸ™‚DSCN1198Before I left work I had a kiwi andaΒ  serving of TJ’s Peanut Butter Pretzels πŸ™‚Β DSCN1192DSCN1193

While packing lunches for tomorrow (see, I am responsible) I ate a bunch of random trail mix and bites of other stuff.

So, I have one habit broken – eating when I get home. I wait 30 minutes before eating anything. It works for me πŸ™‚

Now I have to figure out a way to break the habit of eating after dinner. I am snacky and out of control. I’m brainstorming on this right now!

DSCN0068Ben and I just bought a bunch of furniture from strangers on Craigslist. If you remember we moved to CA with only what we could fit in the truck – which didn’t add up to much more than clothes! Now I have to go help him bring this stuff inside – fantastic. I hate moving big heavy things.