Today I love … Peak Bars

I’ve decided that posting everything I eat after every meal is kinda obsessive and I need to get away from that kind of behavior. So, I will post what I ate each day at the end of the day or the next morning. I am trying to focus on intuitive eating. I want to really listen to my body and give it what it needs. I do believe our bodies tell us when they are hungry and what they need. I have bad habits of eating when I am not hungry, emotional eating and eating because it’s “time”. Now I am focusing in and listening to my body’s cues. This is not easy. If you are like me and have been on diet after diet you are convinced that if you just do what your body says you will be an unstoppable eating machine. I don’t think that’s true. I remember watching a 20/20 episode a couple of years back on how we train our kids to stop listening to their bodies. We insist that they finish all their food and/or force foods on them. They did an experiment where they gave one group of kids a high calorie drink with their lunch and a second group a no/low calorie drink. Both groups consumed the same number of calories. The kids in the first group listened to their bodies and stopped eating when it had enough. As we grow we train ourselves to stop listening to what our bodies are saying. I need to relearn these cues.

But, I am not at a place where I can completely let go. I am still going to track what I eat. I am trying to lose about 17 pounds, but I don’t want to go on another diet. I want to lose the weight through a healthy lifestyle. So, I will continue to exercise and eat healthy while watching portion sizes and snacking, making healthy choices and listening to my body. Amen.

Here is a link to the intuitive eating website. They define the term and have other useful information and a quiz.

One Response

  1. I noticed that this is not the first time you mention the topic. Why have you chosen it again?

Leave a Reply

